UK Universities Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme – Over 227 Scholarships Available 2013/2014

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarships is aimed at  International students from developing Commonwealth  countries who are of excellent academic calibre but for financial reasons would not otherwise be able to afford to study in the United Kingdom. The scheme is joint initiative between the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (with funding from the Department for International Development (DFID), and UK universities.

To date, more than 3,500 students from  developing Commonwealth countries have been awarded the Shared Scholarships. Without these awards they would not otherwise have been able to benefit from UK  higher education.

Number of Scholarships  available? 

Over 227 scholarship positions  are available for 2013/2014

Accepted Subject Areas?

  • Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are for taught Master’s courses only.
  • All courses undertaken must be demonstrably relevant to the economic, social or technological development of the candidate’s home country.

Participating Universities in the UK :

Scholarships are only available at participating universities in the UK.  For 2013 62 universities have offered to support the scholarships.

What does the Scholarship Cover?

DFID and participating United Kingdom institutions will jointly meet the full costs of an award holder’s study in the United Kingdom including air fares to and from the United Kingdom. Maintenance allowance is paid by the scholar’s host institution, at the level set by the UK Government: £1,134 per month for scholars based in London and £917 per month for the rest of the UK. (July 2012 figures).

A grant of up to £225 to cover thesis (Master’s) costs is available; also available is £200 for study travel. The cost of up to 10 Kilograms of excess baggage (books only) is available for scholars returning home at the end of their awards.  No additional allowances are paid for spouses or other dependents.

Who is qualified to apply?

Applicants must:

  • be nationals of (or permanently domiciled in) a developing Commonwealth country as listed below and not currently be living or studying in a developed country (please see the list of eligible countries below)
  • hold a first degree at either first or upper second class level
  • be sufficiently fluent in English to pursue the course
  • have not previously studied for one year or more in a developed country
  • be able to confirm in writing that neither they or their families would otherwise be able to pay for the proposed course of study
  • be willing to confirm that they will return to their home country as soon as their period of study is complete

Eligible Countries

Nationals of Commonwealth Developing Countries (Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda Nauru, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana,  British Virgin Islands, Namibia, Cameroon, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana,  India,  Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati,  Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia,  Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guineas, Pitcairn, Rwanda, St Helena,  St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa,  Sri Lanka,  Swaziland, Tanzania,Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Western Samoa, and Zambia)

How to Apply?

  • Applications should be made directly to the participating institutions at which candidates wish to study. For list of Participating Universities See Booklet   for 2013 Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Prospectus .The sponsoring institutions will be the judges of academic calibre and will forward their nominations to the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission for its agreement.
  • Candidates should note that although they may apply to more than one institution, only one offer of award may be accepted
  • The specific deadlines set by the participating institutions varies but is around February-May of each year (see 2013 Prospectus for exact deadlines).  Candidates should note that institutions are asked to forward their nominations to the CSC no later than 30 April 2013; where institutions have not specified a closing date candidates, you should contact the institution so as to ascertain the latest date that the institution is willing to accept applications.

It is necessary that you thoroughly read the 2013 Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Prospectus and visit the official website for further information on how to apply for this Award.


Official Scholarship Website:  http://cscuk.dfid.gov.uk/apply/shared-scholarships/


Find it useful? Share Online – If you can, help others.

Permanent link to this article: http://internationalscholarshipguide.com/uk-universities-commonwealth-shared-scholarship-scheme-225-scholarships/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *